Horse Racing Brisbane News

This Saturday, April the 2nd, the 2011 Golden Slipper will be held at Rosehill Racecourse. It is the richest two-year-old race in the world and is home to some strong competitors. One of the five group 1 races being held is the $400,000 Queen of the Turf Stakes over a…

horse racing brisbane

There are many prominent horse racing events taking place within Australia each year that are able to attract the most avid and enthusiastic fans and punters. However, some of the more popular events within the market in recent years are those taking place in the horse racing Brisbane market. This is partly due to the incredible odds, stats, and betting options being provided for these great races through the online bookmakers and wagering venues. These innovative, superior wagering outlets allow all punters in Australia to get in on the action within the horse racing Brisbane market no matter what part of Australia they are in.

Popular Horse Racing Brisbane Events

While there are many high profile events taking place throughout the season in Brisbane, one race that has always had a significant fan base is the Stradbroke Handicap. This race has quite a long history and has created an incredible legacy within the horse racing Brisbane market having first been run in 1903. However, the race has grown quite dramatically since its inception and regularly attracts thousands of Aussie punters to the online wagering venues and bookmakers. The race is officially run over a distance of 1400 metres and is a Group 1 handicap race for thoroughbreds. However prior to 1953 the race was actually held over a distance of 1200 metres or 6 furlongs. The race takes place annually in June at the Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. With the prize money currently at an average of AUD$1,000,000 the race certainly has never had issues attracting some truly top notch trainers, jockeys, and horses and because of that also attract so many avid punters to the online bookmakers to take advantage of the great odds being provided. Some of the more notable winners in recent years include Black Piranha in 2009, Mr. Baritone in 2008, Sniper’s Bullet in 2007, La Montagna in 2006, St. Basil in 2005, and Thorn Park in 2004.Horse Racing Brisbane

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Another extremely popular race within the horse racing Brisbane market is the Queensland Guineas taking place at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and is reserved for 3-year-old thoroughbreds at set weights. The race is a Group 2 race, however prior to 1968 the race was actually Group 3. The race is held annually during the Queen’s Birthday long weekend and is officially part of the Brisbane Winter Carnival. As of the 2009 race the prize money was set at AUD$251,500 and didn’t have any problem attracting some great jockeys and trainers. In recent years there have been many fan favourite winners as well as several underdogs. Some of the recent winners include Express Air in 2009, Turffontein in 2008, Sequential Charm in 2007, Nova Star in 2006, Saxon in 2005, and Winning Belle in 2004.

One of the races within the horse racing Brisbane market that always garners more attention than a lot of the other events is the QTC Sires Produce Stakes. This race is for thoroughbreds at set weights and is a Group 2 race run over a distance of 1400 metres. The race is held annually in June and in 2009 was contested for prize money of AUD$250,000. Some of the more notable winners in recent years include Shoot Out in 2009, Fravashi in 2008, Masked Assassin in 2007, Danleigh in 2006, and Virage De Fortune in 2005.

When it comes to the great new online wagering venues and bookmakers available to Aussie punters interested in the horse racing Brisbane market, one event that is a must for most is the PJ O’Shea Stakes. This great race has been held annually in June at the famed Eagle Farm Racecourse since its inception in 1887. Its officially hosted under weight for age conditions and is a Group 2 race for three year old or older thoroughbreds. While the race has never had a shortage of incredible horses, trainers, jockeys, spectators, and punters following the race, the name of the event has changed a few times over the years. Until 1899 the race was known as the Royal Stakes until being changed to the Queen’s Plate in 1900. It was once again changed in 1905 to the King’s Plate until being once again switched in 1946 to its current name, the PJ O’Shea Stakes. Some of the more notable recent winners include Scenic Shot winning the race in both 2009 and 2008, Mahtoum in 2006, Natural Blitz in 2005, Pentastic in 2004, and Maguire in 2003.

With all of these great races being held with the horse racing Brisbane market, its no surprise to the bookmakers that so many Aussie punters have been utilizing online venues to place wagers. With all of the incredible opportunities available to the average punter these days, it is extremely easy for anyone to stay up to date with their favourite local races and effortlessly place bets all from the comfort of their home.


Among all punters worldwide, its pretty safe to say that when it comes to thoroughbred horse racing Australia has always been the Mecca of the industry for everyone from jockeys to punters. It’s no wonder with such events as the Melbourne Cup and the PJ O’Shea Stakes. This is the reason that there is understandably so much interest these days through online bookmakers when it comes to the world-renowned horse racing Brisbane market. With a ton of excellent races taking place each year including the PJ O’Shea Stakes, the Queensland Guineas, and the QTC Sire Produce Stakes, there are more than enough opportunities for punters interested in the local Australian horse racing scene and they have certainly been taking advantage of the incredible odds being provided.